Wednesday Funnies on Wednesday… shocking I know

Laughter is said to be the best medicine
we’ve done a lot this last week
here are some of the funny things I remembered…
The wedding reception had a candy bar for guests to fill a tiny box with some yumminess, There were Mike~n~Ike, M&M’s, Runts {I love the banana ones the red cherries, not so much} Skittles, and Gum Balls in fun clear glass dishes next to a pyramid of boxes with C and J’s name sticker on the box.
The couples table had 2 jars of their favorite candy on their table for guests to also enjoy.  He had Gushers, she had Cow Tales.  We were standing around waiting for the introduction of the Bridal Party and my nephew C was near us, someone said “wow that is a big jar of cow tales” to which he replied with a straight face, “it took me a lot of cows to collect all those cow tales”  Yeah the whole Overholt Family is a big crack~up

We had a family bbq the day after the wedding, my sister~in~law set out plastic cups and a sharpie for everyone to label their cups.  we could not use initials since we had 4 KO’s, 3 CO’s, and 2 JO’s…  so we had to use names.  Except for the one smartie~pants who put ME on the bottom of his cup.  Later “ME” was looking for his cup, it had become the cherry pit holder for the group since no one saw his name on the sides of the cup…  That will teach him.

During one leg of our ever so long trip, the van was quiet, everyone was reading or riding in silence, when J piped up “you’ve pushed my last button” into the silence, we all burst out laughing.  when asked who he was talking to he replied “my self”  goodness gracious what was his self saying to himself that pushed all his buttons???

J was playing Are You Smarter Than A 5th Grader in the van, it starts out as level 1st grade and as the questions get harder, you climb into higher grades… The question was “what color is a complimentary color to Green?”  I answered Blue, J picked Red.  He was right I quipped back, “I guess I’m not smarter than a 5th grader to which R replied, you are not smarter than a 3rd grader, it was only a 3rd grade question.”  From that moment on I quit the game.  Nothing like a little game cartridge to remind me of what I do not know or did not remember learning…

Yesterday we were driving along on the highway in Detroit, a racing motorcycle raced past us with a couple on the seat, she has some nearly there shorts in bright white and her bum was quite high on the bike.  I noticed her immediately and began praying in earnest that my kids would not notice because if we did we would have to have the body image conversation…  Thankfully they did not notice, well, except for E, once they were in her line of sight she proclaimed to the entire van “why does that lady have her bottom so high up in the air”…  My simple reply “I don’t know honey, I don’t know”

On our way to U of M we were on a bumpy road,  C asked if the bumps were something wrong with our van or the road, I looked back to answer him and J was bouncing almost off the seat with the bumps.We’ve been up late playing games with Grandma and Aunt Patty {sadly Uncle Neal is in the hospital, he had some pertty serious injuries duing a motorcycle accident, he will be fine but it will take a while before he is back to normal} even missing him, we are having the best time!  We laugh our way through the games and only halfway caring who wins!
Go hug your kids and listen to the funny things they say
jen

3 thoughts on “Wednesday Funnies on Wednesday… shocking I know

  1. Keith says:

    I care who wins…all the way.

  2. O says:

    When J asked what the complimentary color of green was I answered RED! He was smart and listened to me. 🙂

Leave a comment