The Bad Banana

Today, like any other day I threw things into lunch boxes and we rushed out the door.  Although if I am being honest, which I am, I only made little A’s lunch, 2 left early with their dad (if they want to go early they must pack their own lunch) and R had already made his lunch.  I packed a little container of Mac-n-cheese, so she could eat it cold, a pack of fruit snacks, a banana, a cookie, and a thermos of water.

11:00 I am shopping in Publix (Where shopping really is a pleasure) and my phone rings, I am actually startled because my Publix is a giant dead zone for cell phone service.  I answer it, the school nurse was on the line,  A threw up at lunch.  I beg her off on her dad, I was half way through the store, and really we do stomach bugs a lot so I was not worried about her and knowing my schedule for the next few days I really wanted to finish grocery shopping.  I picked her up 20 minutes later.

12:45 the school calls AGAIN E is now in the clinic and not feeling well.  She says it is her stomach, and she wants to come home.  I call Keith because the littles are now resting.  E comes home and goes right up to bed.

1:30 little A comes down from her room, can she watch some TV.  I asked her how her tummy felt.  “fine”  I asked her what made it hurt? “my banana”  I asked why? “the 2 big black spots were too yucky.

Here is what happened

A: My banana had 2 big black spots on it
M: why didn’t you just throw it away
A: I couldn’t
M: why (thinking they were supposed to be in their seats still)
A: blink blink blink (she has VERY BIG BLINKS)
A: ok
M: but why didn’t’ you throw it out?
A: because it was too mush and I needed a napkin
M: why didn’t you get a napkin
A: because it was too mush
(circles we talk in circles)
A: when I tried to pick it up the throw ups just came
M: where baby?
A: on my lunch box and the table
M: oh dear
A: blink blink blink
M: how did your banana turn so black at school? it was yellow when I put it in your lunch box
A: well, maybe because I put it around my back a few times. (showing me like a basketball warm-up drill) Than I dropped it 2 times.  BUT not at the same time,
M: oh, blink blink
M: ok well maybe next time you just eat your banana and not throw it around you back?
A: oh good idea mommy
A: now can I go watch netflix?

This people, this is why sometimes I don’t make any sense when I talk to adults, because my mind is still trying to process the bad banana and throwing up.

Go hug your kids, and tell someone you love them, time is just too short, I was reminded of this by the lady at the grocery store who said she wished she had a sweet little one to visit with while she shopped.  And told me how very lucky I am.  I agreed with her, PS was quick to charm her.   I love old people in the grocery store who say nice things to my children!  Although I have never had anyone make a mean comment to us ever.

jen

One thought on “The Bad Banana

  1. LAURA BRAGG says:

    Didn’t someone call you a grandma once? That’s kinda mean haha

Leave a comment