Empty Cereal Boxes, and Who Puts Them Away?

Does this happen at your house or only mine?
Yesterday I was talking to a friend of mine, she was getting ready to leave on a field trip, and was commenting on how all she packed for lunch was a yogurt, because her people in her house had finished off the bread, but no one mentioned it to her.  So lunch for a field trip was yogurt…  I laughed with her telling her she was not alone.  We laughed about sips of milk left in cartons and juice bottles with only drips, left in the refrigerator for someone else to put into the recycling bin.  She said they cleaned the pantry and had about 20 boxes of cereal with enough for a small bowl left in the bottom.  Her question was “Who does that?”  I laughed in agreement.
She left for her field trip, I returned home to clean up before the satellite repair guy showed up.  I was putting away the lunch mess, and noticed the APPLE JACKS box on the table.  When I picked it up the box felt very light, almost too light…  I pulled the bag out.And this is what I found, an almost empty bag inside the box.  I texted the picture to my friend, with the words…  “My house is the same as yours.”

Earlier when I went to the pantry to put away the peanut butter, I noticed an OXO container about half full of APPLE JACKS already in there…  Yet we had an open box on the table with only a small amount in it.  I went to the pantry and took out an OXO container to put that left over cereal in, but as was pulling it out I noticed another box of APPLE JACKS that looked open.Sure enough it was already opened…  So I sent this picture to my friend. “My people are awesome!”

Upon further inspection I found THIS.Also FROSTED FLAKES

I organized the cereals and finished cleaning up the lunch mess (jelly smeared on the counter) and went about cleaning the house while I waited for the satellite repair guy. 4 hours later, just as the estimated time was ending he showed up.  (Exactly as expected)

I even forgot about the almost empty cereal boxes, until night-time,
I wanted a glass of chocolate milk. I went to pour myself a tall glass of cold milk, only to get this much out of the carton.  I texted this to to my friend, “Nah, I’m not that thirsty for milk. Just a little sip please.”  All she did was laugh back at me.

For real.

We have a chalk board wall to list things on that they use up.  Right now it has razor refills, ginger ale, shaving cream, garbage bags, cookies, and deodorant, in many different hand writings. I guess some think ‘if I don’t finish it I don’t have to put it on the wall or walk all the way outside to the recycle bin to throw out the carton or box’

So are we alone?  Does this happen at your house too?  Will it ever end?  I know why it happens, they are children, and just don’t think about it, but tell me they out grow it?  Neither my friend or myself remember doing it as a child…  (I guess we should ask our mothers to be sure)

Go hug your kids, they need your love, and check the milk carton before you head out to the grocery store.
jen

One thought on “Empty Cereal Boxes, and Who Puts Them Away?

  1. Linda says:

    My husband does it all the time.

Leave a comment